Skip to main content
Twin Cities 2017 high school graduates and scholarship recipients from left are Aria Flomer, Benjamin Jourdan, Nathan Noma, Madeline Bocek, Kylie Noona, Erik Dagoberg, and Kaiji Iishii.

The Twin Cities JACL’s 54th annual Scholarship Awards banquet, honoring its 2017 high school graduates and scholarship recipients, was held on May 11 at the Normandale Hylands United Methodist Church in Bloomington, Minn. In total, $11,500 in scholarships were awarded.

Honored during the program were 2017 high school graduates Madeline Bocek (Wayzata High School), Erik Dagoberg (Wayzata High School), Aria Flomer (Upper Mississippi Academy), Kaiji Iishii (Wayzata High School, North Education Center Academy), Benjamin Jourdan (Bloomington Jefferson High School), Nathan Noma (Bloomington Jefferson High School) and Kylie Noonan (White Bear Lake Area High School).

The chapter honored Iishii with the Shigeko Kirihara Memorial Scholarship, Jourdan with the Dr. Norman Kushino and Kay Kushino Memorial Scholarship/Tom and Martha Oye Memorial Scholarship; Flomer with the Susan Matsumoto Memorial Scholarship, Dagoberg with the Tom and Reiko Ohno Memorial Scholarship, Noma with the Annie Sakai Girard and Tsuyano Sakai Memorial Scholarship, Noonan with the Earl K. and Ruth Tanbara Memorial Scholarship and Bocek with the Minoru and Mary Yoshida Memorial Scholarship.

The chapter congratulates and sends its best wishes to the 2017 graduates!

If you are interested in learning more about these scholarships, please contact Donations may be sent to TC JACL Scholarship c/o Connie Tsuchiya, 6431 Mere Dr., Eden Prairie, MN 55346.