Skip to main content
The Twin Cities JACL 2014 scholarship awardees are (front row, from left) Quinn Coyle, Blake School; Karen Edwards, Lakeville North HS; Megumi Rierson, Blake School; Shawn Ramberg, Math and Science Academy-Woodbury; and (back row, from left) Roy Ramstad, Cannon Falls HS; Vincent Belsito, Mounds View HS; Kyle Tsuchiya, Eden Prairie HS; and Matthew Dulas, Edina HS. Not pictured is Matthew Murakami, Eden Prairie HS. Photo by Cheryl Hirata-Dulas

By P.C. Staff

The Twin Cities JACL continued the tradition of recognizing outstanding local high school seniors at its 51st annual Scholarship Awards Banquet on May 15 at the Chateau in Medicine Lake, Minn. Scholarships totaling $17,000 were awarded to nine high school seniors on the basis of academic excellence, community service, extracurricular activities and an essay on “The Value of Further Education.”

“This year’s applicants were highly accomplished in athletics, music, language and community service, while also maintaining high academic standards,” said Pam Ohno Dagoberg, committee chair. “It was a pleasure for us to recognize such an impressive group of young people.”

In addition to Dagoberg, this year’s scholarship committee consisted of Carol Dean, Sylvia Farrells, Connie Tsuchiya and Fred Tsuchiya.

Originally published on June 6, 2014